Latest Older
Eggs.Eggs.

2004-02-18 - 7:42 a.m.
Teenage boys are not known for their poor appetites. Basically, if it ain't nailed down or painted on the walls, they'll eat it if they can catch it (which is the only reason we still have our cats).

When I get home from work around 5, I usually have a two or three hours to wait until dinner time, regardless of whether or not I cook it, so I normally grab a snack when I get home. Boca Burgers, Hot dogs, deli meat, low-carb cookies or some such thing.

The cupboard was bare of course, since J. had been off school on Monday and so had devoured anything he didn't have to cook. That left me with Eggs.

I usually scramble my eggs, but since yesterday would have been (or I guess was) my dad's birthday, and he always liked his eggs boiled, I figured I'd have boiled eggs.

Pan, water, eggs, heat, timer, beep, beep, beep.

I started playing around on Heretic II, which is sometimes fun when they're not doing bladematch. If you crank up the volume on your headphones you can really feel the bloody bodies exploding into flames as they get scorched by a Phoenix Rod.

After doing that for a while, R. came home and told me that J's dad was going to take him out to dinner, so I didn't need to cook after all - the two of us would also go out. She called her mom to see when she was planning on bringing over the money ($100) she owed us. After a few minutes on the phone she came into the smoking room and announced

"If they want to borrow money from us anymore, they can damn well come and pick it up, and drop it off again when they return it. We are not a delivery service."
"I agree"
"It's really rude to expect us to drive over there to lend them money, and drive back to pick up it."
"Which I assume is what we're doing this time?" I asked.

She nodded. R. was not happy...

We dropped J. off with his dad, and they went to some bar and grill, the name of which escapes me.

We drove over to R's moms place, which is on the way back to our house. She was having someone in to quote on building cabinets, and we had to hang around in their bedroom until she'd got to a stopping point. She was kind of annoyed that her husband wasn't there, since he knew the appointment was at 7:30 and he'd gone out to the store or something and wasn't back yet, so she was left asking this guy questions and she knew she wouldn't ask everything and husband would be pissed and it wasn't her fault and goddamit....

We made our excuses and left as quickly as possible, once we got the c-note. She was definitely nervous about this because she trapped the car in the gates on the way out, scraping the trim. I was not happy, but at least it sounded worse than it was.

We went to Chili's for dinner, since we hadn't been there before, then to kill time we wandered around Target for about 20 minutes until we got a call from J's dad, and went to pick him up at the grill (I remember it now - it was the 'No Frills' Grill. We ate their once, and it sucked, but J. seemed to like it.).

Finally, about nine-thirty or so, we get back home.

Remember those eggs?

Yeah I'd forgotten them too.

I didn't know eggs could explode, did you? And the smell! Oy! We had to spray and light incense and run fans and take all kinds of olfactory measures to get rid of it.

I'd had my head phones turned up playing heretic, and hadn't heard the timer. Then, because we didn't eat at home, no-one went near the kitchen, so no-one saw the eggs.

Wierd how a series of little, seemingly unconnected events can lead to exploding Ovums...

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com