Latest Older
Phew!Phew!

2004-02-24 - 11:25 a.m.
This is the first breather I've had this morning. Woke up late, which meant I got caught in the nightmare that is DFW rush hour traffic. So I get in late, and the first thing that hits me is one of the grunts from Sector 7G (well ok, the help desk) who tells me that webmail is down. I go look at it for him, but I'm thinking to myself "I missed the part where this is my problem". Well the computer room is hotter than a roughneck's jockstrap. Two of the servers are already belly-up and three more are screaming. So I bring down all non-essential servers and open the computer room door, which is our current recovery plan for heat related server issues. The Air conditioning guys are due in this week, but it seems to me that 'this week' began some time last October and shows no signs of ending any time soon. God knows what's up with the webmail. The logs show nothing useful and we can't bounce the server, so I tell Grunt to wait for Top to come in so he can take a look at it. Top is the ex-army ranger that runs the help desk.

Then it's off to french class. Antoine prepare des sandwiches. Il en prepare. Papa ne va pas manger de viande.

I also called Northwestern Mutual and raised holy hell because despite their continued assurances that the policy was cancelled (and I would therefore be getting a check), a whole other department was insisting that it wasn't cancelled, so I wouldn't be. That kept me nicely annoyed for about an hour this morning.

I forgot my cellphone this morning, which means I can't call my mom, and I really need to. I did send her card of yesterday - $34 for two day air to the UK (Her birthday is on Feb 29th). I threw in some pictures for her also.

JR came in and is telling me the french want me to go to France. Not the whole of the french population, just our sister company, who's name no-one can pronounce or even remember, so we just refer to them as 'The French'. Personally, I'd rather have a rusty spike up my butt. Paris sucks. I'm sorry, but it does. It has some beautiful, beautiful archiecture and some fine artwork. But if you are on a business trip, you don't get to see any of this stuff. You just see traffic jams and annoyed french people, most of whom hate the English and the Americans and would happily give you directions to Pango-Pango when you get lost, unless you actually want to go there. That is assuming they speak to you at all. Generally Parisiens pretend to not speak english, although most of them are fairly fluent. Don't get me wrong, I like the french, most of the time. But Paris does something to them - something not nice...

Alright I guess that's the end of my little breather. Back at it!

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com