Latest Older
Death. Its not just a good idea, its the law.Death. Its not just a good idea, its the law.

2004-03-01 - 7:23 a.m.
At night, when I go to bed, I turn the heat down, so the air pressure drops. That way my nose clears and I can sleep. But on chilly mornings like this it means I don't want to get out of bed. I like to curl up in the sheets and my dressing gown with my ALP (Annoying Little Pillow, named by R.). I don't mind waking up early, just as long as I don't have to get up too early. I sleep wierd. I stick my legs under the covers, but then use my dressing gown as my main blanket. Not sure why exactly, but its something I started doing just in the last few years.

Lying in bed in the early semi-waking moments of consciousness, ideas and concepts come to me that I can't quite remember later on. This can be frustrating at times. Yesterday morning for example, I seemed to be on to something very profound, but I couldn't tell you now what it was. Something about the transition from death to afterlife being an automatic process. The dying brain, so used to the material world, constructs images and concepts to explain what is happening that are brought back by people who have Near Death Experiences. Over the centuries we have ended up with a complex mythology associated with death. Our names being in the Book of Life. Ma'at weighing our hearts against a feather. I now believe that events here or at least the way we are here, can effect what happens to us after we die. But I suspect the process is automatic, and if we could identify the inner workings of this process, we would act differently on this plane to ensure a better outcome when we pop our clogs. If you knew, truly knew, that the relentless pursuit of wealth, or the continual habit of screwing people over was going to result in most of your essence being negated and returned to the earth plane, would you continue to do it? If you knew that behaviors such as rising above the slings and arrows, forgiving people their trespasses, being selfless instead of selfish and being loving instead of bitter were going to result in more of your identity being preserved after death, would you change your ways? The above examples may or may not be the right way to go. I don't know. I can only hazard a guess based on my own personal morality.

The process can be automatic, and still involve an ultimate Supreme Being. In fact wouldn't it make sense for whoemever designed the Universe to also have designed a standard process for dealing with crossing over? Would they even be capable of handling so many deaths any other way? Well, maybe they would but it seems much more efficient to automate the whole thing. Death is a very personal experience, and what you see may be purely subjective. One persons Ma'at is another persons St. Peter. After living so long in a body, we see what we expect to see, at least initially.

I don't know where all this is going. It is something I want to look at in more detail though. I need to get back into the habit of keeping a pen and paper by the bed to write this stuff down. I knew more about the above when I was barely awake than I can remember now. Ho hum...

Enjoy your Monday :)

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com