Latest Older
It's quiet, too quiet...It's quiet, too quiet...

2004-03-02 - 7:48 a.m.
With the arrival of our new dishwasher yesterday, peace has come to the House of the Pink Gecko. No more shall we hear this 200dB roar for two hours solid like a rhinocerous being castrated in wind tunnel. Now we have to turn the TV DOWN to hear the Dishwasher, instead of turning it up to cover the noise.

It has an idiot button on it, which they have tactfully labelled 'autoclean'. The machine works out how dirty your dishes are, then keeps cleaning them until they're not dirty any more.

We have the futon in place, the dishwasher in place, the Golden Dawn book on its way. Thursday Stanley Steemer is coming out to clean the carpets. This coming weekend is taxes and car service.

R. is doing some Voodoo stuff at the moment. Something to help J. get his grades up and improve his focus. Hopefully that'll work - Nothing else has. If it does, maybe she can do something about her little brother, G. He's popped back inside for 45 days because he didn't pay a fine for a DUI he got when he got out of prison last year. I guess he will at least have time to learn something new while he's there. Petty larceny or breaking and entering for example. He's been burning the candle at both ends for some time now. In fact he's been burning it in the middle too. Most of the family is of the opinion that if he doesn't shape up he is going to end up in real prison (again) or dead.

Despite taking his mom's ATM card, his stepdad's truck and also selling the truck we bought for him when he first got out for reasons that I'm still not entirely clear on, he's on the phone again looking for handouts. He needs underwear. Apparently they took his underwear away from him because it had the Confederate Battle Flag on it. I have no response to that.

New subject.

"She-Bang! She-Bang!"

I saw William Hung for the first time last night, and thought he seemed like a nice intelligent guy who is probably going to have a hit record with the above song then fade into obscurity until being revived as a trivial pursuit question 10 years from now. Best for him if he does. Concentrate on that Civil Engineering degree Hung, along the other path there be dragons...

I also thought of a reality show called "The Gods Must be Crazy", which I think actually my sell. Not as much fun as Survivor: Death Row, I'll grant you, but you have to go with the flow I guess. Anyone know how I can sell this show idea to Fox? I have no clue about this stuff. If I can't figure it out, I'll just post it up here with a copyright notice...

On my continued pursuit for understanding Life, the Universe and Everything, I have been attempting to identify emotions and/or character traits that can operate independently of a material existence. The first of those I think I have identified is 'Forgiveness'. Forgive yourself and others utterly, sincerely and completely before you die, otherwise you leave a stain on your soul. So there.

Its great to be Forgiving, but what is the opposite of Forgiving? Is it:

  • Unforgiving
  • Non-forgiving
  • Hateful
  • Judgemental
  • Vengeful

    If you look around the net you'll see all these as different answers. I suspect it is Vengeful. Why is the opposite important? Well with the research (if you can call it that), its a buy one, get one free deal. By practicing Forgiveness, we also get to extract its polar opposite, as another piece of the lead to be removed from the golden soul.

    Please please please don't think I'm preaching - that ain't my plan at all. I am just trying to find answers. Anyway, forgiveness is Universal. No one religion has the franchise rights on it.

    That's enough for now, I think...

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com