Latest Older
Kids, Parents are not Stupid.Kids, Parents are not Stupid.

2004-03-10 - 8:03 a.m.
Wednesday.

Tuesday was a fun evening/night.

Why is it that every generation of kids assumes that they're able to pull shit on their parents that the parents haven't seen before? Why do they think they are smarter than us, because they hide their shit between the mattress and box springs, where we'd never look?

I mentioned some time back that we had put locks on our bedroom door and the temple room since J. had been stealing items of his mom's clothing (she keeps her robes in the temple room closet. There was a fetching black one he seemed particularly fond of).

So I come home yesterdaty evening and I'm watching TV, and J. is using the bathroom in our room, which he is absolutely not allowed to do. We keep the laundry basket in the bathroom.

So after yelling at him, he finally slinks out with his hand in his pocket, disappears into his room for 5 minutes, then returns to the living room.

How stupid to kids think we are? It took me about 30 seconds this morning to find the underwear he'd nabbed.

2:30 am this morning I wake up, after a particularly disturbing 'body snatcher dream' (which I'll come back to in a minute, because it would make a cool movie). It is hot in the room, so I go to turn the heat off, and notice a slight glow in the study. J. is at his computer. His CMOS password protected computer. We did this so that he wouldn't be able to get on without our permission, since he's grounded until his grades come up. I'd been finding things for him to do in the afternoon when I got home so he could earn computer time. Like doing the dishes, taking out the trash, etc. This would earn him a couple of hours.

But the little shit had already figured out there was a CMOS password override (Which all computers have by the way. Doesn't matter what you change the CMOS password to, the chip has an overriding one which can be found on the internet). I knew this the moment I confronted him.

"So you figured out the password?" His head snapped round. "Erm. yeah" A lie, clearly. "I guess you'll be changing the password now?" I nodded.

Again, How stupid do you think I am? Do you really expect me to believe you were able to figure out the startup password we were using? I know you know the master CMOS password, and so you want me to change the user definable password, so I think the computer's safe and you can keep right on playing!" I didn't say any of this, just thought it. I sent him to bed and went back there myself, then spent a restless hour trying to sleep.

R. woke me up this morning, and I told her all about it. She got the password he was using out of him. Sure enough, it was a CMOS password, not the one we had set. Cute. She took his monitor cable, and I installed a mousetrap on both of our computers in case he tries the same trick on them.

Back to the dream. The dream was about this creature that could go from body to body and take it over. I think there was a film called 'Fallen' along those lines, with the black actor that isn't Wesley Snipes, but is really good. He was in Crimson Tide. You know the one.

Anyway in the last scene of the dream, I shot this creature (or rather the body it inhabited) in the back, making me the last guy around for miles. So the creature leapt to me. But what it didn't realize until it was too late is that I also had a pinless hand grenade in my hand. So it leapt, and we blew up and it died. So did I, but there you go.

My cookie dough has arrived. It is White Chocolate Macadamia, and is my favorite vice. I love the white chocolate because it reminds me of Milky Bars when I was a kid. And the Macadamia nuts remind me of Hawaii. I maky make some cookies tonight. I'll see how it goes. I did check and I've lost 3 of the 5 pounds I'd picked up from this last weekends gastronomic orgy. Hopefully I will get the remaining two off by the end of the week.

Well that's about all I have for today. The office is getting busy, and I have work to do, so have a wonderful Wednesday. I'll natter at ya later.

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com