Latest Older
Nick O'TineNick O'Tine

2004-04-01 - 7:46 a.m.
Could my connection be any slower today? R's connection is fine which makes me think its something on my PC, so I'm running McAfee as a precaution.

I need to stop smoking. Each morning I get up, have coffee and potter around for an hour or drive into work or whatever the hell it is I happen to be doing that day.

After about an hour, I get the urge for a ciggie and light up. I've never been one of those people that has to have a cigarette to wake up. The last thing I want to smell or taste first thing in the morning is a cigarette. My morning breath is usually pretty bad as it is.

So when I eventually light up, I get the nicotine hit and then the downer kicks in. Nicotine is a downer, I don't care what people say. I get tired and that yucky feeling of smoke hanging around in my smoke and lungs.

I need to quit.

I've been smoking for 23 years. I think I've got the point now. I only started in the first place due to wanting to 'fit in' at college. Everyone smoked, it was ridiculous. After a year, I found out that a bunch of people started the first day of college, simply because they wanted to 'fit in' also.

Unfortunately, R. smokes too. She may try and give up also, but I don't know whether either of us can pull it off. The likelihood is that one of us will lapse back, and then the other one will get dragged back into it also.

It would be nice to save $10/day though between us. Adjusted for tax, thats like getting a $5K/year pay raise.

We could certainly use the money. Never mind the long term health benefits. And I hate being dependent on cigarettes. Absolutely hate it. I don't like being able to just say 'screw it, I won't have one'. I can do that with chocolate, beer, anything else. Not cigarettes. Pisses me off.

Maybe I'll to to R. about it tonight. JS leaves next week, so we maybe could start after that.

I'm working from home today. I'd better get on the stick. Enjoy your Thursday!

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com