Latest Older
Backs to the Land Girls...(or the Wall)Backs to the Land Girls...(or the Wall)

2004-07-16 - 7:23 a.m.
Intelligence.

Did you know the average IQ in America is 100? And a 100 ain't that smart.

Chances are, if you keep and read diaries regularly, you are smarter than the average bear.

By the way, on the link above, if you take the iqtest.com test, you won't get your answers online unless you pull out your credit card. But they will email them to you.

I scored 162. Which is about what I expected. I seem to have gone up a few points over the last couple of years, so I guess its true that alcohol kills brain cells, but it starts with the weakest ones first. Therefore my average braincell is stronger because its been challenged by immersion in Red Wine.

Fortunately my wife is pretty smart too. Smarter than me in a lot of ways. And more practical. She knows how to load a dishwasher with three times the dishes I would dare to put in and still have them coming out clean and sparkly.

She is smart enough to tell the difference between some radical idea I might have which is truly the secret underpinning to our entire existence, and some wacked out theory that demonstrates conclusively that I've been at the Merlot again.

We measured her two kids and they're both smart also, but in different ways.

And my son, A. has apparently been measured also and is likewise gifted. Which is more trouble than its worth IMHO.

Why am I telling you all this? Well, I've been in a discussion recently on a mailing list about intelligence.

It is becoming a rarified thing indeed.

Intelligence is hereditary, in most cases. In other words, smart people tend to give birth to smart kids. Dumb people tend to give birth to right wing conservatives.

Oh all right, I know I'm doing it again aren't I. Forgot I said that.

Dumb people have dumb kids. Generally speaking. And I should probably stop using the word dumb too. Less intelligent. Ok, ok. Intellectually Challenged. How's that?

Whatever you want to call it, those individuals who are a few fries short of a happy meal tend to produce offspring of similar intellectual standing.

And what's more, they have more of them. There have been numerous studies (mostly because people weren't willing to believe it) over the past thirty years that have shown that people at the shallow end of the gene pool tend to breed more.

Please note in all cases I am using words like 'tend to' and 'generally speaking'. This is so that you know I'm not talking about you, or your precious offspring. I'm sure your 3 year old is an absolute joy to behold as long as you keep him away from the Kool-Aid and Ding-Dongs. I hope I have six just like him.

But we're not talking about me, you, or the anti-christ in the kitchen yelling at you again.

We're talking about humanity in general. Objectively. And in general, humanity is getting dumber. Because intelligence is mostly hereditary, and the number of offspring one has tends to be inversely proportional to the intelligence of the parents.

This is bad because it means that each generation is dumber than the next. And so not only are global problems less likely to get solved, they are more likely to not be understood at all, or ignored altogether unless the global problem happens to be a shortfall of Sony Playstations.

Unfortunately, the solution to this problem is not a popular one, although it is a logical one. So I will not speak of it here. There is something else we can do though.

As I implied earlier, people who read and write more (e.g. Diarylanders) tend to be more intelligent. So go take an IQ test. Then, if you score more than say 130, get your seed into the gene pool!

Ladies, get our there, find a geek and Do It For Your Country. Your grandchildren will thank you.

Guys, nip down to the local sperm donar clinic and crack one off. Or two or three.

I urge all of you to have rampant unprotected sex at the next JournalCon!

You know it makes sense!

A word of caution however: Since the next one is apparently in Washington D.C., make sure your potential mate is a true blogger, and not some damn congressional representative, senate minority leader or God forbid President. That would just pooch the whole deal, and the world may never recover from the impact...

Alright enough. Now get out there and Do Your Duty.

Catpewk Out.

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com