Latest Older
Anniversary SchmaltzAnniversary Schmaltz

2004-08-30 - 10:59 a.m.
I'm usually pretty good about tipping and so on at hotels.

Not so at the Radisson this weekend. Hotel 'sundry' prices have always been excessive, but now they're just plain extortionate.

For example: At the gift shop I bought three bags of trail mix, a bottle of water and a small bottle of diet coke. Cost was $23.

I ordered a muffin, croissant, orange juice and a 'pot' of coffee (which contained two cups). $29. $3 was the delivery fee and $4 was the service charge.

Valet parking was $15.

The room was $125, which is about what you'd expect, but the room faced into the hotel and was small and pokey.

I was tempted to take the little pots of preservatives, towels and even the friggin lightbulbs.

I didn't, but I was tempted.

The meal at Randall's was awesome. I had the Chilean sea bass, R. had the Duck. After our entrees (stuffed Portaballo Mushroom and sauteed calamari (both of which were average), we nipped outside for a cigarette.

When we came back, we found the chef had re-cooked our entree, because he wanted it to be fresh at our table! I felt bad about that, but he said he ate R's duck for his dinner, so that was okay I guess.

We also went and had a pint in O'Shea's, then a glass of wine at Del Friscos, then got shitfaced on Vodka and Redbull up in the room, talking and retying our love knot for about 4 hours.

We were not worth a light the following day.

Broke, tired and hungover, we did at least have a good time...

J. is at home today with what I suspect is food poisoning from eating Bologne that had not been resealed after opening.

I've tried to explain the important of caring for meat in the fridge, hopefully he's got the point this time...

I completed my essays for my second degree. I may post one or two of them out here over the next day or so.

The last thing I have to do is my final project. I've put in a proposal for it to be on Form and Function. We'll see how that goes...

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com