Latest Older
Have a Holly Jolly December 25th.Have a Holly Jolly December 25th.

2004-12-13 - 9:24 a.m.
On the local morning show today, they were talking about some of the recent changes schools have made on how Christmas is handled.
Some schools won't allow Christmas to be mentioned. Songs get changed: 'We wish you Happy Holidays and a Happy New Year' is one example.
On the show, The basic question was 'Why should the majority have to put up with the whining of the minority? If the majority want christmas to be celebrated in schools, then why shouldn't it be?'
I sing Christmas songs. In the shower, on the way to work. I also like contemporary Christmas songs, like 'I believe in Father Christmas', 'A Fairy Tale of New York' and even 'A Spaceman Came Travelling'.
I'm not a christian, as you regular gentle readers know, since I've labored the point at length. But I like the music, as it is stuff I was brought up on. It reminds me of home as a child. White, magical christmas mornings; presents that I didn't expect to get finally being brought out at the last minute; Turkey, Mince Pies and a little taste of my mom's Sherry.
I still celebrate christmas today on the 25th, although we also celebrate Yule on the 21st. That works for me, because I firmly believe that ultimately there is only one God and we just label it differently depending and where and how we live. If God gets honored twice by my family in the same week, I don't think we're going to lose brownie points.
Consequently, like many people, I feel it's a bit silly when changes are made to long standing christmas carols, and when christmas trees can no longer be displayed in schools, and when there is no end of term christmas play.
BUT....
The simple truth is that the Constitution specifically prohibits any endorsement of any specific religion.
The Constitution also provides for a means to change itself.
If the majority of people really cared enough about this issue, then the constitution could be changed.
Right now, they don't - maybe in the future, they will.
But until that time, I'd like, with your express permission, to wish all of you a pleasant and generic seasonal celebration, and a prosperous beginning to the next solar year as defined by the current and generally accepted western calendar.

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com