Latest Older
Doctor Who?Doctor Who?

2005-02-04 - 9:02 a.m.
The site has actually started to make some money.
Not much, but hopefully enough to cover the costs.
Most of it is coming from the new Google program called Google AdSense. It's an easy way to get targeted ads that are relevant to your web pages. Google pays you when people click on the ads. It's free, and doesn't take long to set up. Check it out [here]. No, I don't get a referral fee :>
Yesterday was a tough day for me. When my BP gets high, I tend to worry, so it gets higher, so I worry more..and so on.
I finally did the only thing I knew that would calm me down - I went to the Doctor.
"Look, you're not anywhere close to extreme. Your BP is 138/93. I had a guy in here just now with a BP of 220/140, and he came in complaining of a headache."
This is my new Doc, Dr. NoBullshit.
"You are not obese -"
"But my BMI"
"- is an inaccurate measure. How much time did you spend in medical school?"
"ummm...altogether? All classes, lectures, etc?"
"Yep"
"Zero"
"BMI is an inaccurate measure. You are not obese. You're just forty. You get flabby. So trim up, but don't worry yourself into an early grave. Mr. High BP I mentioned? He weighed more than you and he's only 5'2" (I'm 6'4"). He's been living on pizza, burgers and chicken wings for the last ten years. He has a headache. You are not in any extreme danger."
"My cholesterol -"
"Your cholesterol was close to 300 six months ago. We'll see where it is now, then decide what to do. But I'm not giving you a pill just for the sake of giving you a pill."
I told him about my new plan.
"Good. But you don't need to walk every day."
"I'd rather do that. That way I don't play games with myself about when I should and shouldn't walk."
"Fine. Cutting out the alcohol is a good thing too. The beer will mess with your cholesterol. Stop smoking, too."
"I have positive reinforcement. My mum told me years ago that she knew I was ok financially if I could afford to buy cigarettes."
"Heheh - that'll do it. Try a patch."
"My wife smokes too. I don't think she's ready to quit. Besides I smoke Eclipse. Do you know about them?"
"Yes."
"Do you know of any independent studies on whether they're better for you or not?"
"No."
*sigh*
"Look, you're ok. The new BP medicine will kick in shortly - maybe another week or so. Come back and get your lipids done so we can see where we are on the cholesterol."
"Thanks, Doc."
"Go home."
I did feel better afterwards. A little teary eyed in the car, but I think that has to do with the Practicus grade. I've been very emotional recently. Practicus is a study of the element of Water - the sphere of emotion.
I'm a wreck. And a wuss.
But on the plus side I'm not 5'2", 240lbs, with blood pressure so high that its giving me a headache...

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com