Latest Older
Defcon ThreeDefcon Three

2005-03-08 - 8:02 a.m.
"You two sort it out, I'm going for a walk"

"What are you thinking?"
"I'm thinking about punching him in the face!!"
I slammed the door and marched off down the street, trying to release some of the built up energy and negativity that comes from dealing with a smart-mouthed, underachieving 17 year old with a chip on his shoulder and an answer for everything. Some of these answers are lies, some of them are true.
I don't know which and that's what frustrates me.
Last week J. found a watch at school.
"You should turn it in."
"Naah, I reckon I can get $5 for it."
"The right thing to do is turn it in."
The following day I asked him about it.
"Did you turn that watch in?"
"Oh yeah, I was going to anyway."
"Good for you. I'm proud of you."
I emptied my wallet, which sadly only contained $4 at the time and gave it to him. At least while he is growing I want him to feel that doing the right thing has some kind of tangible reward associated with it, even if its only small. Later we'll can deal with the spiritual concepts once doing the right thing becomes 2nd nature. Or first nature.
So yesterday morning I went to the school and got his progress reports. The Principal confirmed that they did get handed out last week. He was failing all classes except IP&C (Science, basically).
"How can he fail P.E?"
"By not suiting out. That's the only way."
"What about World History?"
"There's an exam this week, if he does well on that he should squeek through."

Last night, when R. came home, we started going through it with him. He wasn't suiting out because he'd lost his kit.

"Ok, what do you need for Gym?"
"Clothes"
"Yes, what kind of clothes?"
"Just clothes"
"Hat, Pantyhose, what?"
"Just Clothes!"
"Like what! Jogging pants and a t-shirt perhaps?"
"I don't know! Anyway, coach said he wouldn't mark me down because my kit got stolen, as long as I do gym in my normal gear"
"You got a 50"
"Well, they probably haven't got the mark of his computer yet"
"They're networked"
"His isn't"

I can feel my blood pressure starting to rise, and my voice is starting to get shaky. These are not good signs.

"World History. You have an exam this week. When is it?"
"I don't know." He says this as if it's inconceivable that he would know.
"He hasn't told you?"
"No, he just tells us we have a test coming up."
"So you have revision to do?"
"No, because I know everything"
"...."
"...."
"...."
"Ok, so you are going to get 100% on this test."
"No, I don't need 100%"
"If you don't get 100% you will fail"
"No I won't my grade is 68.7%"
"That's not what it says here. We got this today."
"She probably hasn't updated it yet on the computer. I only need to get like 80%"
I know, know that some of what he is saying is complete and utter bullshit. I know that he knows it. I know some of what he is saying is truth as he sees it, but in truth he wasn't paying attention to what the teacher told him. And there is undoubtedly some real truth in there for good measure. And I can't tell which is which.

But how do I know that the little shit is not just a beacon of truth and honesty? Because when he got home, I checked his backpack. And the watch that he said he turned in and took cash off me for was still in there.

At this point, at a genetic level, my ancient ancestors, those that used to hunt down gazelles and bears and lions and pummel them to death with rocks are screaming in my head asking me why I am not pummeling this insolent child to death with rocks.
On a more physical level I am seething. If this was a cartoon and you drew me, you'd have to draw steam coming out of my ears, bulbous, bloodshot eyes and teeth jammed together so tight you could not get a gnat's fart through them.

"You two sort it out, I'm going for a walk"

The rest of the evening was not fun. R. went to the grocery store and spent extra long there. J. and I stayed in separate rooms.

I have had better evenings...

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com