Latest Older
Here's one I did EarlierHere's one I did Earlier

2005-05-30 - 9:33 a.m.
I was born in 1964.
From 1967 to 1972, John Noakes (with his dog Shep), Valerie Singleton and Peter Purvis guided my interest in the strange new world I found around me.

On the show "Blue Peter", which came on at tea-time, I watched as they made all kinds of wondrous machines out of old toilet rolls, cereal boxes and sticky-backed plastic.
I watched John Noakes hurl himself out of a perfectly good aeroplane at 5 miles up.
I watched Lulu the elephant take a giant crap on the set then drag her handler through it.
I watched Mike Oldfield write and perform the new theme tune for the show.
I was enthralled by Bleep and Booster's outer space adventures while Neil Armstrong bounced on the moon.
And I had strange, unwholesome thoughts about Valerie Singleton's legs.
These were the people that showed me the real world as I began to take an interest in it.
Blue Peter actually started in 1958, with Christopher Trace taking the place of Peter Purvis.
There was another show, on ITV that competed with it back then called Magpie. But I think that didn't have the staying power of Blue Peter, which as far as I know, it is still going strong today, after 47 years.


Does that answer your question, Yoyo?

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com