Latest Older
My God, He's Full of Crap...My God, He's Full of Crap...

2005-11-01 - 11:59 a.m.
We awaken as we get older. At least, those of us with a brain do.

Around age 28, when Saturn slides back into the same position it was in when you were born, you are called to account inside for what you have done or not done so far in your life, and told to straighten up and fly right.

So in the Nineties, when I began to realize that what I did could be important I began to take my job seriously.

And it became clear that I had a serious job - one that I would be held responsible for - legally - if I fucked it up. Along with every other techy geek on the planet.

So we saved the human race from itself with such finesse that everyone asked 'what was all that silly fuss about Y2K? Nothing happened!'. And they all went back to laughing at us again. Except the smart quiet ones, who were grateful, but unfortunately, quiet.

Y2K was my great challenge. In the systems I coded and designed and planned and implemented I helped save civilation as we know.

Then came Air Al-Qaeda. The Taliban. The War in Afghanistan. The War in Iraq. Natural disasters like the Tsunami. Hurrican Katrina. Hurricane Rita, the Pakistan Earthquake.

No on talks about Y2K anymore. No one cares what we did.

And I have no challenge. Because the skills I have can't stop a Hurricane or a Tidal Wave. The government says I'm too old to hold a gun or decode a message.

With my Nerdy buddies, I saved the world at the end of the 20th century; Now I don't know what to do next.

But I will think of something.

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com