Latest Older
DevolutionDevolution

2006-08-12 - 2:04 p.m.
I read Stephen Baxter's book Evolution over the past couple of days. I sort of wish I hadn't.

I should know better. Baxter is an awesome writer, and his novels span the length and breadth of time and space, but they ultimately end up being somewhat depressing.

This latest one demonstrates quite effectively how small a period of time mankind really has on this planet. At least in a conscious form. Humanity is looking to be just another failed experiment in the history of evolution.

We could have survived longer. Maybe we still could. I do hear politicians saying all the time 'We need to take care of Earth, our only home'.

I agree.

But I don't really think Strip-Mining the Planet is the best way to care for it!

Although it would certainly be nice and tidy afterwards.

Certainly not polluted by such nasty creatures as humans...

We're already devolving. We're getting stupider. No I'm sorry, its true. There are entire school districts that have less money to spend in a year than one professional footballer.

Education should be our primary focus. Why? I don't know why - That's the point.

We have to get smarter. The only way to do that is through education. Once we get smarter, we'll understand better. We'll be more tolerant (statistics show) of one another. We'll figure out how to save ourselves and our planet, and stop looking at where the next friggin' buck is coming from.

I don't know how to do that. And unless we spend a lot more money on quality education, No one else will either.

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com